Having Time for Christ

19 May

Watch

The Great Sin

God’s greatest revelation is in the Gospel. For me not to live with this at the centre of my life is a massive sin.

Consider Paul’s letters to the Corinthians and Galatians. The Corinthians had gone insane. There was drunkeness at the Lord’s supper, Christians suing each other and even incest. Yet Paul still had time to pray a prayer of thanksgiving.

With the Galatians, however, Paul (and of course the Spirit) was all guns blazing. He launches into a full scale attack. Why? Because they turned to another Gospel. This could not be tolerated.

Our Idol-Sins

In our lives there are sins we think are worse than all others and these demonstrate our idols. Is the worst sin intolerance? Is it homosexuality? Both are sins but neither are the greatest.

It challenged me to think to myself that though if I committed sexual immorality I would be absolutely devastated, yet I can let days go by with legalism, immorality or sheer forgetfulness of the Gospel.

It’s time I go Galatians on my soul and it’s time you did too. To neglect the Gospel is the worst thing I can possibly do. This doesn’t mean I can be sexually immoral. It should appal me just as much as it does. Yet neglect of the Gospel should be a massive concern.

Every day I must make it my greatest work to never let go of the Gospel. This is the greatest aim my life can have.

(Picture by hirotomo under the Creative Commons Licence)

What do you think?

