Book Lovers Find a New Home!

23 Jun

Book-aid in NigeriaAt the weekend I visited a used bookstore and came away with:

  • Richard Sibbes: Complete Works (vol 1)
  • Charles Spurgeon: New Park Street Pulpit (vol 4)
  • Augustine of Hippo: Confessions
  • Sinclair Ferguson: Man Overboard
  • Sinclair Feguson: Christian Life
  • Louis Berkhof: Systematic Theology

Guess how much it cost me?

£10.

Book Aid in the UK

“Where is this shop?” you ask. The one I visited was in Barnard Castle (County Durham), but there are also shops in London, Ranskill (Nottinghamshire) and Templepatrick (County Antrim).

On the ground floor of the Barnard Castle store there were a couple of Bibles and Banner of Truth books and then the rest was a find it yourself A-Z by Author’s Name treasure trove. Not all the books were of as good stock as the ones I bought, but you can find many gems (many out of print). My friend found a signed copy of an Elisabeth Eliot book strangely enough!

When I went they were selling all the Banner of Truth volumes they had half price at Barnard Castle, so well worth a day trip.

Book Aid across the world

Whilst I was basking in the amazing deals I was getting, the lady who ran the bookstall informed me it was a charity. Christians in this country donate their used books to Book Aid and the large percentage are sent to areas across to areas where Christian literature is hard to come by (i.e India, Cameroon, Ghana) and are sold at affordable prices to pastors, laymen or seminaries.

The profits taken from sales in the UK go to help fund shipping etc. of these books overseas.

What an incredible ministry! It gives poor students like me quality Christian books and helps support ministries abroad. Pray for the ministry and support them by either giving your used Christian books or going and buying some more for your collection.

5 Responses to “Book Lovers Find a New Home!”

  1. versical June 24, 2008 at 1:49 pm #

    Hi Tim,I picked up your site on Link Referral and was very impressed.Reading this piece reminded me of a poem I wrote called Jesus.Here it is.God bless, Mike.

    For years I’ve searched
    For perfect ways
    To reach Your throne of grace
    I’ve strived and strained
    Read loads of books
    So I would see Your face
    The bibles, I have plenty
    All kinds of different versions
    But everything is easier
    Than long, drawn out, excursions.

    My prayer life, just like a list
    Expounded every morning
    You knew the way that they would go
    You must have found them boring
    My formula was oh so good
    I thought they reached the parts
    Just like the beer, they brought You cheer
    Like fiery little darts.

    But now I have the notion
    That I must try much harder
    Cast off my jacket that is straight
    Start filling up the larder
    Bible study is a must
    So You I get to know
    I need a deep relationship
    So that our love will grow.

  2. Tim Wilson June 24, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your poem versical. It reminds me of the need to study to get in relationship with God, rather than to grow in knowledge.

    Look forward to seeing you around more and looking at your blog too!

  3. rjs1 June 29, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    Some books that may interest you:

    To a Thousand Generations by Douglas Wilson

    The Baptized Body by Peter Leithart

    Mother Kirk: Essays and Forays in Practical Ecclesiology by Douglas Wilson

    The Lord’s Service: The Grace of Covenant Renewal Worship by Jeffrey Meyers

  4. Tim Wilson July 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm #

    Thanks for the tips Richard! Sorry I was away on holiday and couldn’t moderate your comment. It normally sends yours straight through but anyway…

    I can’t help but notice these are entire books, how on earth did they get their way on to the internet?

    Anyway thanks for the heads up on them. I’m especially interested in the ones on infant baptism as the whole baptism issue is a hot topic for me at the moment. What led you to recommend them?

  5. Richard July 8, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    Tim,

    No worries; you asked “What led you to recommend them?” Simple, they are pretty interesting (well I have found them helpful, not that I agree completely with them) and of course they are online for free!

    The first one is about paedobaptism the second is more to do with the efficacy of baptism.

    FWIW, I wrote this on baptism a while ago which may be of interest.

What do you think?

