Am I Good Enough for Christ?

18 Jul

Christ offers an amazing gift, everlasting joy. It’s a gift too good to turn down.

But are we good enough to receive this gift? Surely there’s something you must do to be acceptable to Christ, right?

Am I Good Enough for God?

Before we ask whether we are good enough for Christ, let’s think whether we are good enough for God.

God demands perfection: “…be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect” (Matt 5:48, ESV).

God is perfectly loving to all people. How do you shape up? Ever lied? Ever accidentally upset someone? You don’t make the grade.

But guess what…no one does. So how can we get to God?

Am I Good Enough for Christ?

Jesus Christ offers another way. He has lived a perfect life, just as the Father requires.

So he gives us a deal: “I’ll give you my perfect life and I’ll take your punishment”. Sounds a great deal to me! Surely there’s a catch?

Not at all. Jesus says “…whoever comes to me I will never cast out.” (John 6:37, ESV). Whoever comes. There is no limit.

In the Bible, a man called Paul who murdered Christians was allowed to come. If he can come surely you can too.

If you simply accept you’ve done wrong and trust in Christ to take your punishment he will give you eternal life.

Deals don’t get much better than this.

Over to you

Here are some questions to respond to in the comments page:

  • Is this what you thought Christianity was about or did you have a different impression?
  • What is stopping you from accepting Jesus as your Saviour when the gift is so free?

(Picture “365.113 Nervous” by Taaalia under the Creative Commons Licence)

Feed IconIf you’d like to know more about Christianity sign up by email or RSS Feed

2 Responses to “Am I Good Enough for Christ?”

  1. the diet solution February 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why
    but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

What do you think?